He also told them this parable: “Can the blind lead the blind? Will they not both fall into a pit? The student is not above the teacher, but everyone who is fully trained will be like their teacher.”

“I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do.

Luke 6:38-40 and Romans 7.15

We got a new car just over a year ago.  Its much bigger than our previous one, very helpful now we’re properly in family life.  Just once or twice though I’ve almost got into trouble with it.  I’ve been reversing and not see the person crossing behind me until its almost too late.  I’ve been turning and only just noticed the cyclist coming up next to me.  My big car is great,  but I need to remember it has blind spots.

Recently I’ve been thinking about the blind spots in my walk in God.  I remember David Westlake talking about this years ago,  and reminding me that justice, mercy, compassion and standing up for the poor were almost always western blind spots.  As I look over some of my choices and decisions I realise how right he was.

But there are other blind spots too, and perhaps they reveal themselves in the things I do, or don’t do, without thinking. Like being so used to multitask-life that I’m doing things on my phone when I’m talking to someone about something significant,  or just spending time with my kids.   Or walking past a bit of cleaning or tidying in the house and hope the mess-fairies will come and sort it (my wife loves that one!) Little things maybe, but do they reveal bigger issues?

We probably all have blindspots; what are yours?  Relationships that are slightly wrong, attitudes to other people,  little addictions that we just let go on: to drink, or consuming, or to work…

I don’t want to end up falling in a pit,  and I don’t want to lead others into one. So recently I’ve been asking God to open my eyes.  To help me become aware of the blind spots and give me strength to do something about them. 

Quote