Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves. Each of you should look not only to your own interests, but also to the interests of others. Your attitude should be the same as that of Christ Jesus.

Philippians 2

Increasingly I’m realising just how much I need to hear God’s good news;  I need to be evangelised.  As I sat down to read these famous words this morning I was already thinking about some viral video I didn’t agree with.  Getting all uptight about about people I thought were wrong.

But I need to remember that actually,  I’m just as much in error.   I wonder if this is really the summary of Jesus’ message:

“Your wrong,  God is so much better than that.”

Its certainly what I hear most as I look at the Jesus-stories and think about my life, my preferences and my prejudices.

The word that jumped out at me today was humility:  considering others better than yourself.  I’m trained, by culture and by myself, to not be humble. As a functioning part of consumer society I have been formed to have tastes, to make choices, to have opinions and to consider these all important.  To function in modern life I have become someone who considers himself better than others.

And along comes Jesus,  and once again he says:  you’re wrong.

Help me God,  to live in your humble way.  Amen.