The God Lab

Helen and I picked this book up at New Wine last year,  I think she might have gone to a seminar by the author, or we may have just liked the title and the cover (we are that shallow when it comes to books).  Anyway,  I’ve finally got round to reading it and I’m really glad we did!

The God Lab is a fresh take on the sayings of Jesus, often called the beatitudes, from Matthew 5.  Each chapter is a reflection on one saying and then a prayer-experiment based on the reflection.  Roger Bretherton is clinical psychologist and draws from that knowledge, as well as from various Christian prayer traditions, to form these exercises.

We are currently looking at the Beatitudes during our central gatherings at Kairos Church.  I’d definitely recommend this book to any Kairos people want to explore those sayings more deeply.

The God Lab