Midsummer-ish update

I remember our first summer in Deal, especially getting to the point where we had done a whole year there, being a bit of a turning point.  It feels that way again:  there is just something significant about doing a whole cycle of seasons in one place that helps me feel like I know what is happening.  It may be an illusion,  but its a nice one.  

We’ve been a year in Harrogate,  and its been a great time. A whole years worth of “what have I been up to”  would make for a very long post.  But here are a three little highlights from over the Summer so far.

Ordination as Priest

This happened on 30th June at Kairos,  it felt like a big deal.  I’ve kind of been on this journey towards becoming an anglican priest for around a decade or more.  The service itself was very significant – felt God’s presence very strongly.    Since then I’ve led one communion service,  got another couple over the weekend,  and enjoyed saying “bless you” and knowing that it’s a fully caffeinated blessing I am offering.

Ben Askew 006

I got well and truly anointed,  here is a picture of me covered in oil next to Bishop James – who ordained me.

Tour de France

A really fun weekend.  In case there are any non-yorkshire dwellers reading,  the county kind of went nuts for a weekend. We went down and watched the bikes going by and enjoyed the atmosphere.  It was really fun,  there is something really incredible about being in the middle of big crowds in the town where you live.  Good times.

2014-06-28 15.27.022014-07-05 16.42.582014-06-28 15.34.25

Alpha

One of the things I’ve been doing this term is running an Alpha course that is now coming to an end. It’s been so good to work with a team and journey with a little group of people as they journey towards faith in God.  We’ve seen God do some really good things in people’s lives.   I actually used to be a little bit of an alpha cynic – mainly due to my own issues – but the more of these I’m involved in the more I love them.  Such a good, simple way of helping people explore faith. There have been some recent tweaks to the course that I think make it really compatible with a missional community setup like the one we have here.

I really like the work on promotion and publicity they’re doing too,  like this video:

Now H and I are trying to get a few jobs done before the end of the school term and slow down into some rest time over the summer.