Last minute Lent ideas

He we are,  Shrove Tuesday.  Pancakes tonight,  ash tomorrow.

It has felt to me that Lent is beginning very early this year – its almost caught me by surprise and I haven’t quite had as much time as I usually like to to plan what I might do this season to help me draw closer to Jesus.

In case you are simiilarly stumped here are three last minute lent resources you could use.

40 Acts are encouraging people to do one simple generous thing a day.  I’m excited about doing this – and hopefully excercising my kindness muscles this year.  We’re going to do this as a family discipline using their all-age resource.

During Advent I read Malcolm Guites excellent anthology,  Waiting on the Word,  it featured a poem a day and insightful commentary.  I am looking forward to reading his lent anthology this year.  If you don’t quite have time to get the book yet you can listen to each poem on his blog.

Finally I remember being fascinated by Ian Adam’s 40 Temptation series on Morning Bell posts last year.  An image and a provocation – some quite painful.  Ian has expanded them into an anthology of words and images that you can get from Proost.  I’m looking forward to going through this,  though expect some to make me uncomfortable.

What about you,  are you embracing any Lent disciplines or working through a resource that you hope will encourage you? I was challenged to get give some of these away to people around me this year.  Is there anyone around you that you could share a Lent journey with?

The Ash cross image came from Creationswap.

 

Last minute Lent ideas