Good Questions

There’s been lots of buy-ness and planning over the last few days. For me: trying to work out how to best keep connect with others, be a church without physical proximity, be part of supporting friends and neighbours.

I’ve found myself asking lots of questions.

What should we do? How can we help? Who most needs help? What does the advice say? What is going to happen? How will we get through this?

These kinds of practical, tough, quick-answer-me-now questions are important. They lead to plans and steps and coping.

But they also lead to anxiety, a sense of worry. Some of our answers may not feel adequate or as water tight as we might hope.

I’ve also found myself wanting to ask different kinds of questions: more open, more lingering, conversation starters not situation fixers.

More like the kinds of questions that Jesus asked, even in times of real pressure.

I am trying to get in the habit of using the version of the Ignatian Examen found in the excellent little book “Sleeping with Bread”. They form around two really good questions.

For what today am I most grateful?
For what today am I least grateful?

I wonder if it might help us to ask and ponder slow questions a bit more right now.

Over on Kairos Church’s social media I’m going to try and post a question a day. If you have ideas for good questions do suggest them.